Tony Hawk Among 2019 California Hall of Fame Inductees

tony hawk
YEW Staff
Written by YEW Staff

San Diego County native Tony Hawk will be inducted into the California Hall of Fame later this year, Gov. Gavin Newsom announced Wednesday.

In addition to Hawk, the 13th Hall of Fame class includes the late writer and poet Maya Angelou, retired soccer player and two-time Olympic gold medalist Brandi Chastain, TV personality RuPaul Charles, astrophysicist France Cordova, author and activist Jeanne Wakatsuki Houston, civil rights leader the Rev. James Lawson Jr., comedian George Lopez, chef Wolfgang Puck and winemaker Helen Turley.

California Hall of Fame

Established in 2006, the California Hall of Fame honors people who “embody California’s spirit and have made their mark on history through achievements across a variety of fields,” according to the governor’s office. The governor and first partner select the inductees each year.

“California has always fostered innovation and creativity and I am thankful to be recognized as someone who has paved the way for future generations of skaters and groundbreakers,” Hawk said.

The 13th California Hall of Fame class will be inducted December 10th in Sacramento. The ceremony will be streamed live on beginning at 7 p.m.

About the author

YEW Staff

YEW Staff