Introducing The San Diego Surfing Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony

YEW Staff
Written by YEW Staff

In surfing, as with any worthy pursuit, we stand on the shoulders of giants.  These innovators and pioneers have emerged everywhere that waves break.  In this regard, San Diego has been particularly blessed.  Our 70 miles of coastline have produced some of the most innovative shapers and wave stylists in the sport.  And as everyone paddling out to the lineup knows, you have to honor those who have come before us.  With that in mind it is with great pleasure to introduce the inaugural San Diego Surfing Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony.

In what is sure to be a historical event we celebrate a special evening of guests presentations, rare surf footage, music, laughter, tears and stoke in the company of the legends who have made San Diego one of the epicenters of surfing’s past, present and future.  Brought to you by the team behind the San Diego Surf Film Festival, the “List”, as it has become known, contains over 50 of San Diego’s most influential surfing icons and induction ceremonies are being planned for the next 5 years.

Tuesday, August 13th the San Diego surf community will gather for the inaugural San Diego surfing Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony.  Along with the incredible music of Jimmy Lewis and live art by Wade Koniakowsky, attendees will have the pleasure of witnessing a visual collaboration between surf-world luminaries Hank Warner and the unparalleled video vaults of Ira Opper.

The event will take place at beloved North County San Diego venue The Belly-Up Tavern and will be a singular opportunity for anyone involved with or inspired by surfing to meet and mingle with many of the legends being honored.

Phil Edwards

Skip Frye

Mike Hynson

Linda Benson.

Tom Keck.

Butch Van Artsdalen.

Bill Caster.

Tom Ortner.

Ron Church.

Carl Ekstrom.

Larry Gordon.

LJ Richards.

John Holly.

Chuck Hasley.

Windansea Surf Club.

Master of Ceremonies: Hank Warner

Ticket Price: $30 advanced / $32 day of show / $53 reserved loft seating

About the author

YEW Staff

YEW Staff