28th Annual San Diego Music Awards Nominees

Chris Cantore
Written by Chris Cantore

YEW! is pumped to announce the nominees and performers for the 28th annual San Diego Music Awards, presented by Taylor Guitars and Ballast Point Brewing Company. Returning to House of Blues San Diego on Monday, March 11th at 7 pm, the annual awards gala recognizes the achievements of the diverse San Diego music community.  Additionally, guests can anticipate performances by local artists including The Redwoods Revue, Vokab Kompany, Veronica May, and Ariel Levine. 

 Since 1991, the San Diego Music Awards has presented awards to artists and for albums of exceptional merit in multiple categories.  Nominees (complete list below) are determined in advance by the San Diego Music Academy, which includes members of the San Diego music community, music media, talent buyers and more.  Voting for nominees is open to the public between January 28 and February 17, 2019, via the official website at

Tickets for the event are available here.  Proceeds help keep participatory music programs in local elementary and middle schools through the San Diego Music Foundation’s Guitars for Schools program.

And the 2019 San Diego Music Awards nominees are …

San Diego Music Awards Nominees

Best Singer / Songwriter

Evan Diamond

Jessica Lerner

Missy Alcazar

Jimmy Ruelas

Nina Francis

Sarah Rogo

Shane Hall

Best Jazz

Ed Kornhauser

Erika Davies

Euphoria Brass Band

Sue Palmer & Her Motel Swing Orchestra

Gilbert Castellanos

Joshua White

Nathan Hubbard

Best Jazz Album

Christopher Hollyday – Telepathy

Danny Green Trio Plus Strings- One Day It Will

Ira B. Liss Big Band Jazz Machine – Tasty Tunes

Joe Garrison – The Broken Jar

Mattson 2 – A Love Supreme

Montalban Quintet – Under the River

Peter Sprague String Trio – Samba Andaluza

Best Blues

Bill Magee Blues Band

Casey Hensley

Box Car Chief

Low Volts

Mercedes Moore

Robin Henkel

Stephanie Brown & The Surrealistics

Best Blues Album

Black Market III – Dashboard Jesus

Blue Largo – Before The Devil Steals Your Soul

Low Volts – Roam With You

S. Mathias – Boxcar Road

Sue Palmer – Gems Vol. 1

The Wayne Riker Trio – Blues Breakout

Whitney Shay – A Woman Rules The World

Best Country or Americana

Blind Mountain Holler

Enter The Blue Sky


Nathan Raney

Sara Petite

Stephen El Rey

Trouble in the Wind

Best Country or Americana Album

Barbwire – Long Hard Ride

Berkley Hart – While the Night is Still Young

Jonny Wagon and the Tennessee Sons – Feels Good To Be Alive

Nitro Express – Country Style

Shakedown String Band – In the Key of OB

The Color Forty Nine – s/t

Trouble In The Wind – Hammer On

Best Hip Hop/Rap


Direkt Message

DJ PNutz

DND & Rick B

Parker Meridian

The Microphone Doctors

Vokab Company

Best Hip Hop/Rap Album

Def Shon – Preppin’ My Time Machine

DreCat – Made in Daygo

ill Nicky – Alto

Parker Meridien – Twentyfist Street Sessions

Riston Diggs – Supreme Confidence

Rob $tone – Young Rob $tone

Tulengua – Baja Funk

Best Indie/Alternative

Ariel Levine

Aviator Stash

Coral Bells

Dead Feather Moon

Imagery Machine

The Bassics

Wild Wild Wets

Best Indie/Alternative Album

Nights Like Thieves – Sophomore Slump

The Frights – hypochondriac

The Gift Machine – New Tangles

The Gloomies – Romance

The Silent Comedy – Enemies Multiply

The Verigolds – Sea of Zebras

Warsaw – Wires

Best Pop

Birdy Bardot

Creature Canyon

Dani Bell & the Tarantist


The Mittens

Tori Rose & The Hot Mess

Well Well Well

Best Pop Album

Becca Jay – Queen of Hearts EP

Corina Rose – Our Love is Freedom

Daytrip – s/t

Lee Coulter – Earthlee

Pocket Hole – Marine Layer EP

Tory Roze & the Hot Mess – Baggage Claim

Veronica May – Teaser

Best Rock

Great Electric Quest

The Routine


Taken by Canadians

The Oxen

The Slashes

The Strawberry Moons

Best Rock Album

Bad Kids – Pensive

Creature Canyon – Did You Want That

Electric Mud – Highway Refugees

Stone Horse – Gotta Get Back

The Donkeys – Sun Damaged Youth

The Farmers – Farmers SD

The Frets – The Frets EP

Best World Music

B-Side Players

Bi-National Mambo Orchestra



Tribal Seeds

Split Finger

Tribal Theory

Best World Music Album

Boostive – Fried Neck Bones

Crucial Blend – Enough Already

Fluid Foundation – Sloo Ryde

Marujah – Bad Hombres Live at Brandos Paradise

Yale Strom’s Broken Consort – Shimmering Lights, Hanukkah Music

The Camarada Tango Quintet – Tango San Diego

The Amalgamated – Premium Quality

Best Local Recording

Forest Grove – s/t

MC Flow – Her Highness

Spice Pistols – Life’s A Drag

Finnegan Blue – s/t

Dirty Pennies – s/t

The Havnauts – Go For It!

The Tighten Ups – Tighten It Up

Best Live Performer


Sully & the Souljahs

The Creepy Creeps

The Redwoods Collective

Sure Fire Soul Ensemble

The Sleepwalkers

Whitney Shay

Best New Artist

Babydoll Warriors

Julia Sage & The Bad Hombres

Miss New Buddah

Pocket Hole

The Color Forty Nine

The Havnauts


Artist of the Year

Hot Snakes

Jason Mraz


Redwoods Revue

Slightly Stoopid

The Frights

Whitney Shay

Song of the Year

Earthless – Gifted By The Wind
Hot Snakes – Six Wave Hold Down
Jason Mraz – Have It All
P.O.D. –  Listening for the Silence
Slightly Stoopid  – Too Late (Stick Figure Remix)
The Frights – Over It
The Petty Saints – Troublemaker

Album of the Year

Earthless – Black Heaven

Hot Snakes – Jericho Sirens

Jason Mraz – Know

Peter Sprague & Randy Phillips – Sparks and Seeds

P.O.D. – Circles

Planet B – s/t

Slightly Stoopid – Everyday Life Everyday People

About the author

Chris Cantore

Chris Cantore

Morning Radio Guy turned Digital Media Dude.
Host of The Cantore Show podcast.
Be Cool, No Kooks.