Home Music Humphreys 2018 Lineup Is No Joke

Humphreys 2018 Lineup Is No Joke

SHARE
Humphrey's Concerts By the Bay 2018
Photo By Matthew Levin

The Humphreys 2018 concert season was released on April Fools’ Day and despite a soft showing of newer, more contemporary acts, it’s one of the strongest lineups the picturesque venue has dropped in years. Whether you’re traveling by car, boat, or bike, Humphrey’s Concerts by the Bay is a top concert destination for San Diegans willing to jam themselves into folding chairs (bound by plastic zip ties) with Chardonnays in hand.

This month, four of the five shows will feature worthy Coachella artists (Miguel / Chromeo / Fleet Foxes / Alt-J) performing at the venue between Coachella weekends — other spring gems include Andrew McMahon, Michael Franti & Spearhead, and Violent Femmes.

Once summer is kicking, July highlights include blues guitar god Joe Bonamassa, 80s throwback Adam Ant, and the critically acclaimed The Decembrists. In August, 420-friendly Willie Nelson & Family rolls into town with Alison Krauss, along with SEARCHING FOR SUGAR MAN‘s Rodriguez, Toto, YES (50th anniversary tour,) and the ultimate throwback show: “Lost 80’s Live,” featuring A Flock of Seagulls, Wang Chung, Bow Wow Wow, Missing Persons, Men Without Hats, Animotion, Gene Loves Jezebel, and Dramarama.

Once we get into fall, the Humphreys 2018 concert season shows no signs of slowing down with highlights including the critically acclaimed Australian Pink Floyd Show, Sir Ringo Starr, and the show we are most pumped for: “A Bowie Celebration: The David Bowie Alumni Tour,” featuring Bowie’s band Mike Garson, Earl Slick, Bernard Fowler, and Joe Sumner.

Tickets go on sale Saturday at 10 a.m. at the Humphreys Restaurant box office, ticketmaster.com and phone at (800) 745-3000.

Humphreys 2018 Concerts by the Bay:

Tuesday, April 10: Chromeo, with Phantoms, $43.50

Friday, April 13: Scott Bradlee’s Postmodern Jukebox, $59

Sunday, April 15: Fleet Foxes, with Amen Dunes, $60

Tuesday, April 17: Miguel, with SiR and Nonchalant Savant, 7 p.m.

Thursday, April 19: alt-J., with Twin Shadow

Saturday, May 12: “Weird Al” Yankovic, with Emo Philips, $65

Sunday, May 13: An Acoustic Evening with Andrew McMahon in the Wilderness & Friends, 7 p.m., $32.50

Sunday, June 3: The Monkees present The Mike & Micky Show, 8 p.m., $65

Monday, June 4: Stephen Stills & Judy Collins, with Joe Purdy, $70

Thursday, June 7: Michael Franti & Spearhead, with Victoria Canal & Dustin Thomas, 8 p.m., $58.50

Friday, June 15: Eric Burdon & The Animals, with The Edgar Winter Band, $59

Friday, June 22: Dark Star Orchestra, 6:30 p.m., $35

Saturday, June 23: Trampled by Turtles, with Deer Tick, 7 p.m., $45

Monday, June 25: Violent Femmes, with Blaise Blaise Garza Garza & John Sparrow, $45

Friday, June 29: The Go-Go’s, $66

Tuesday, July 10: Straight No Chaser, 8 p.m., $59

Thursday, July 12: Happy Together Tour 2018, with The Turtles, Three Dog Night’s Chuck Negron, Gary Puckett & The Union Gap, The Association, Mark Lindsay and The Cowsills, 7 p.m., $59

Sunday, July 15: Pink Martini, 8 p.m., $62

Tuesday, July 17: Chris Isaak, $85

Friday, July 20: Big Bad Voodoo Daddy, $40

Monday, July 23: George Thorogood & The Destroyers, $58

Tuesday, July 24: Supertramp’s Roger Hodgson “Breakfast in America World Tour,” $60

Thursday/Friday, July 26-27: Joe Bonamassa, 8 p.m., $149

Sunday, July 29: Adam Ant, $50

Monday, July 30: The Decemberists, with Whitney, $64

Friday, Aug. 3: Frankie Valli & The Four Seasons, 8 p.m., $105

Sunday, Aug. 5: The Gipsy Kings, featuring Nicolas Reyes & Tonino Baliardo, $87.50

Tuesday, Aug. 7: Toto, $67

Aug. 8: “Hippiefest 2018,” featuring Vanilla Fudge, Rick Derringer, Mitch Ryder & The Detroit Wheels and Badfinger, featuring Joey Molland, 7 p.m., $50

Aug. 10: Willie Nelson & Family, with Alison Krauss, 7:30 p.m., $185

Thursday, Aug. 16: Brandi Carlile, 7 p.m., $66.50

Thursday, Aug. 2: Rodriguez, 8 p.m., $50

Friday, Aug. 24: The Fab Four, 8 p.m., $47

Sunday, Aug. 26: George Benson, $79

Monday, Aug. 27: Yes 50th anniversary tour, 8 p.m., $75

Friday, Aug. 31: “Lost 80’s Live,” featuring A Flock of Seagulls, Wang Chung, Bow Wow Wow, Missing Persons, Men Without Hats, Animotion, Gene Loves Jezebel, Boys Don’t Cry, Farrington & Mann, Dramarama, 6:30 p.m., $67

Friday, Sept. 7: The Australian Pink Floyd Show, $58

Saturday, Sept. 8: Jake Shimabukuro, 8 p.m., $50

Sunday, Sept. 9: The Stylistics, Harold Melvin’s Blue Notes and Eddie Holman, $55

Tuesday, Sept. 11: Lyle Lovett & His Large Band, 8 p.m., $65

Wednesday, Sept. 19: Kenny G, $55

Friday, Sept. 21: Air Supply, $63

Wednesday, Sept. 26: Boz Scaggs, $100

Thursday, Sept. 27: Ringo Starr & His All Starr Band, featuring Steve Lukather, Colin Hay, Gregg Rolie, Graham Gouldman, Warren Ham and Gregg Bissonette, 8 p.m., $148

Friday, Sept. 28: “A Bowie Celebration: The David Bowie Alumni Tour,” featuring Mike Garson, Earl Slick, Bernard Fowler, Joe Sumner and more, $52

Friday, Oct. 5: America, $70

Saturday, Oct. 6: The B-52s, $80

Friday, Oct. 12: Jesse Cook, 8 p.m., $48

Saturday, Oct. 20: Allen Stone, with Nick Waterhouse, $34.50

Tuesday, Oct. 30: Joan Baez